POSSESSION WITH INTENT
In Florida, under Florida Statute 893.13(1)(a),
it is unlawful for a person to sell, manufacture, or deliver, or possess with intent to sell, manufacture, or deliver, a controlled substance. A violation can be classified as either a second or third degree felony depending on the substance.
To prove the charge, the essential elements is “intent.” Prosecutors often try to prove this in the way the substance is packaged, where it is packaged, the amount of the substance, and other circumstantial evidence. Often times, prosecutors and police will use the assistance of confidential witnesses or undercover cops to get statements from defendants that they can then use against them in proving the charge.
Possession with Intent, depending on the substance can be a 2nd or 3rd degree felony.
Up to 5 years in prison; or
Up to 5 years of probation; and
Up to 15 years in prison; or
Up to 15 years of probation; and
Different defenses are available depending on the facts of the case, however, not every case will have a defense. The defenses can be legal or factual in nature such as:
Lack of Probable Cause;
Lack of intent
Lack of knowledge;